50's · adventure · creation · nature · Uncategorized · vintage

Dame of the Desert

DSC_0403DSC_0331Photo Sep 06, 4 22 12 PMDSC_0293DSC_0266DSC_0333DSC_0388DSC_0383Sept17.42DSC_0370Sept17Sept17.112DSC_0418Sept17.46Sept17.116Sept17.115

This move to Phoenix has introduced me to such natural beauty of a different kind than I am used to, and over labor day weekend I was treated to seeing so much more of it! Saturday morning, Mister and I headed north towards several beautiful Arizona gems: The Painted Desert, Petrified Forest and Canyon De Chelly.  Jon took a solo trip to see all three a couple of years ago, and was about busting at the seams in excitement to show me– you know it’s good if someone who has been there is that stoked!

It would be impossible to share (or even capture) all of the beauty that we saw, even over just a 2 day trip.  Still, I felt it would be worthwhile to start documenting our little adventures here.

My love of both style and the outdoors has sometimes seemed to confuse people, but to me, they both involve the appreciation of beauty– how could I love one and not the other? Even when hiking, as on this trip, I usually find it pretty easy to sport something fun (and sweat worthy).  It was kind of funny to get looks from passersby, all in uniform “activewear” though.

This trip was wonderful in so many ways!  We spent time in the Navajo Nation (where Canyon De Chelly is located), which was such a cool opportunity to learn more about their history and way of life as a people.  I still have things that I need to Google! 😉  All three of our destinations were also so chalk full of the fingerprints of God– Jon even thought to read from the Creation account in Genesis while we took in one of the overlooks of the canyon (*swoon* reasons I love this man)– such beauty, design and hugeness was overwhelming in the best way, reminding me in so tangibly of who my Creator is.  He values both order and authenticity, as there are few straight lines in his handiwork.  He is bigger than we could ever imagine, which means he is blessedly in control.  Seeing the vastness of God has a wonderful way of making me feel small– of reminding me that all of the frustrations and bumpy patches of road that I deal with in the everyday, don’t matter at all.  Seriously, when you witness a breathtaking sunset, do slow drivers in traffic matter?  When you stand before the rushing ocean and recall that the same Creator who made it, sees you and has good plans for your life– does a wrinkled shirt matter in light of that?  Ah, no.

I am so thankful twofold: 1) that Jon and I live so close to this kind of strange and breathtaking beauty, and 2) that wherever you live (I know because I’m from Illinois), God’s awe-striking handiwork in creation can be found in abundance.  See that small flower growing up through the pavement?  See that night sky full of stars?  Creation speaks of the glory of God.

 

Jobverse

{ Outfit Details }

50’s Pinafore – vintage, thrifted

Tank top – UO

Necklace – handmade, gift

Sunglasses – Poshmark

Leave a comment